Defense Industry Gave More Cash to Lawmakers Voting to Arm the Syrian Rebels Fighting ISIS

September 18, 2014The House of Representatives on Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014, approved an amendment from Rep. Howard "Buck" McKeon (R-Calif.) to authorize one plank of President Obama's strategy for combating the Islamic State. The amendment would let the Obama administration provide weapons, training, and other forms of assistance to soldiers in Syria who are fighting against militant groups in the region including the Islamic State and the Bashar al-Assad regime.

How much money have the representatives voting for the McKeon amendment received from the defense industry?

About Our Data


Read the details about our data sources and methodology. Contributions data provided by the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

MapLight California reveals campaign contributions to Assemblymembers and Senators in the California State Legislature. We show how much interest groups like gas and electric utilities and attorneys and law firms contribute to your representatives in Sacramento. More details...

We currently include contributions made between Jan. 1, 2003 and Dec. 31, 2012 to legislators who have served in the 2009-2010 and 2011-2012 sessions.

Top Senate Recipients Funded

Last four years of available data, Jan. 1, 2009 - Dec. 31, 2012.

Cathleen Galgiani$3,350,480
Richard Roth$3,028,308
Fran Pavley$2,972,495
Anthony Cannella$2,793,973
Ted Lieu$2,728,173
Tony Strickland$2,658,057
Marty Block$2,628,282
Mimi Walters$2,214,442
Michael Rubio$2,196,499
Abel Maldonado$2,104,945

See all legislators

Top Assembly Recipients Funded

Last two years of available data, Jan. 1, 2011 - Dec. 31, 2012.

Ken Cooley$4,113,825
John Perez$2,621,242
Al Muratsuchi$2,333,471
Bill Berryhill$2,211,753
Betsy Butler$2,150,350
Michael Allen$2,074,897
Jose Medina$1,950,603
Jeff Miller$1,945,543
Ed Chau$1,470,913
Connie Conway$1,454,549

See all legislators