Ron and Charles Calderon Lead Both Chambers As Top Recipients of Payday Lending Contributions

Jeffrey ErnstFriedman | April 27, 2011

April 27, 2011 - According to KPBS, Assemblymember Charles Calderon has introduced legislation (AB 1158) to raise the borrowing cap for payday lenders from $300 to $500. The Assembly Committee on Banking and Finance approved the measure on April 25 by a 7-1 vote, with four lawmakers not voting.

From Jan. 1, 2003 - Dec. 31, 2010, Charles Calderon received more in direct campaign contributions connected to the Payday/Title Loans interest group ($31,450) than any other member of the Assembly serving in the 2009-2010 or 2011-2012 legislative session. State Senator Ron Calderon, brother of Charles Calderon, is the top recipient among all legislators in that same time frame ($50,000).

A analysis of campaign contribution figures provided by the National Institute on Money in State Politics shows that interest groups connected to Payday/Title Loans have contributed over $1.1 million since the 2004 election cycle to seated California state legislators of the 2009-2010 and 2011-2012 sessions. Contributions from the 2010 election cycle totaled over $444,000.

Below is the list of the top 20 recipients of campaign contributions connected to the Payday/Title Loans interest group.

19 of the top 20 are Democrats.

Ron CalderonDemocratSenate $50,000
Lou CorreaDemocratSenate$42,300
Alex PadillaDemocratSenate$41,950
Ted LieuDemocratSenate$38,400
Gloria Negrete McLeod    
Kevin De LeonDemocratSenate$36,333
Charles CalderonDemocratAssembly          
Leland YeeDemocratSenate$30,100
Alberto TorricoDemocratAssembly$28,000
John PerezDemocratAssembly$27,694
Tony MendozaDemocratAssembly$23,500
Fiona MaDemocratAssembly$23,100
Felipe FuentesDemocratAssembly$20,500
Darrell SteinbergDemocratSenate$20,008
Jose SolorioDemocratAssembly$19,000
Hector De La TorreDemocratAssembly$18,000
Mary HayashiDemocratAssembly$16,300
Joe CotoDemocratAssembly$16,200
Ricardo LaraDemocratAssembly$16,200
Mike VillinesRepublicanAssembly$15,750

Monetary and non-monetary contributions to candidate campaign committees of legislators serving in the 2009-2010 and 2011-2012 sessions of the California State Legislature for election cycles 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010. Campaign contribution data provided by the National Institute on Money in State Politics.


Bergen Smith, Hamsini Sridharan, Laura Curlin | December 19, 2019